The Zakopane School of Physics "Breaking Frontiers: Submicron Structures in Physics and Biology" was held in Zakopane, Poland, from 23 to 27 of May 2023. This conference is a recurrent event of an international range, organized since the mid-1960s and encompassing a wide scope of scientific problems related not only to novel measurement techniques, but also to the application of nuclear physics methods in the study of biomedical materials and condensed phase.

The School is directed to early career scientists: students, Ph.D. students, and adjuncts at the threshold of the scientific career, who can present the results of their work or consult experienced mentors in a pleasant atmosphere. Among the 80 participants, 19 leading specialists in material science, physics, and biology enriched the event with their insightful lectures. The subject matter of this year's meeting included: the applications of novel X-ray techniques, multifunctional materials, magnetic nanostructures, molecular magnets, and the applications of physics in biology and medicine. Two special sessions were organized as part of the event: the first one devoted to measurement possibilities with the use of the X-ray laser in Hamburg (European XFEL), and the second one to the ELI (Extreme Light Infrastructure) research infrastructure.

In addition to the formal scientific program, the School allocated time for informal meetings and discussions, fostering collaboration and the birth of new ideas and friendships. As in previous meetings, valuable conversations and exchanges of opinions took place during scientific sessions, excursions, and shared meals and coffee breaks.

The success of the School was a collective effort. Special acknowledgment goes to the International Advisory Board for its significant input and constructive feedback. The Local Organizing Committee played a crucial role in preparing the conference, and I would like to thank you for your determination, commitment, and patience. Sincere thanks are also extended to all speakers and chairpersons for maintaining session schedules while encouraging lively debates. Gratitude is also expressed to the guest editors, authors, and referees for their dedicated efforts in ensuring that the proceedings accurately reflect the presented content. Special appreciation is reserved for Professor Jan Mostowski for his understanding, assistance, and support in preparing these proceedings.

The ongoing success of this symposia series fills me with optimism and eager anticipation for the forthcoming event in 2025. I hope that the Zakopane School of Physics 2023 has made a meaningful contribution to fostering relationships within the community engaged in interdisciplinary research, transcending the traditional boundaries of physics and biology.


Magdalena Fitta

Chair of the Conference


Published: 29.02.2024

Compact NEXAFS System Based on Laser–Plasma Soft X-ray Light Source for the Analysis of Barium Edges in a B+BaF2 Optical Filter

T. Fok, P. Wachulak, M. Wardzińska, A. Bartnik, P. Nyga, M.P. Nowak, H. Fiedorowicz (Author)



X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy in the Analysis of Titanium and Palladium Nanolayers

G. Wesołowski, M. Borysiewicz, D. Sobota, R. Stachura, M. Pajek, P. Jagodziński, Ł. Jabłoński, A. Foks, I. Stabrawa, K. Szary, D. Banaś, A. Kubala-Kukuś, O. Sadowski (Author)



Plasma Treatment as an Unconventional Molecular Magnet Engineering Method

D. Czernia, P. Konieczny, M. Perzanowski, D. Pinkowicz (Author)



Update on MAC End-Station at ELI Beamlines Facility

E. Klimesová, A.H. Roos, Z. Hoque, N. Smijesh, R.J. Squibb, H. Coudert-Alteirac, R. Feifel, J. Andreasson, M. Krikunova (Author)



Magnetoelastic Effect in Perovskite Orthochromite HoCrO3

K. Komędera, N.K. Chogondahalli Muniraju (Author)



Prussian Blue Analogues Cubes in the Organic Polymer Electrospun Fibres

A. Pacanowska, N.K. Chogondahalli Muniraju, W. Sas, M. Perzanowski, M. Mitura-Nowak, M. Fitta (Author)



Controlling the Magnetic Properties of Fe-Based Composite Nanoparticles

O. Polit, M.S. Shakeri, Z. Swiatkowska-Warkocka (Author)